Team Sites
Follow the BCHL


An initial round of nominations has narrowed down the finalists from each division for the BCHL annual awards.

In a weighted vote, each BCHL head coach was asked to submit a list ranking their top choices for each of most valuable player, rookie of the year, top defenceman, top goalie and most sportsmanlike player.

The names listed below are the finalists from each division as determined by the weighted vote. (The non-voting awards are the Brett Hull Trophy for top scorer and the Wally Forslund Trophy for top goalie tandem and they will be announced after the conclusion of the regular season).

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Island: Alex Newhook – forward – Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland: Kevin Wall – forward – Chilliwack Chiefs
Interior: James Miller – defenceman – Penticton Vees

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year
Island: Alex Campbell – forward – Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland: Kevin Wall – forward – Chilliwack Chiefs
Interior: Kent Johnson – forward – Trail Smoke Eaters

Top Defenceman
Island: Carter Berger – Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland: Layton Ahac – Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior: James Miller – Penticton Vees

Top Goaltender
Island: Kurtis Chapman – Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland: Logan Neaton – Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior: Jack LaFontaine – Penticton Vees

Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player
Island: Alex Campbell – Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland: Kalen Szeto – Langley Rivermen
Interior: Mike Hardman – West Kelowna Warriors

The coaches will now be asked to vote for their ultimate choice from among the finalists and we will announce the winners prior to the start of the Chevrolet BCHL Playoffs.

The Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy for BCHL coach of the year is being voted on this season by the BCHL broadcasters and we will have an announcement about the finalists for that award by the end of this week.

The other league trophy is the Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy, going to the team with the best regular-season record, and the Chilliwack Chiefs claimed that prize with their win on Sunday over Prince George.